I have accepted a job to dispatch, why is the notification count still there?

A I have accepted a job to dispatch, why is the notification count still there? The notification count will remain visible for 24 hrs. unless cleared manually.  Notifications will be cleared after 24 hrs. regardless if a job is accepted or not.